In the 40’s Club, from Today … … …


I became 40 today. I don’t know whether to be sad or happy. I’m not in the habit of celebrating birthdays. In the 40’s one is expected to act with more responsibility and maturity. I did the stupidest things in my life in the 30’s than in the teen ages or 20’s. Most challenging years came in 30’s and the way I confronted them was not that favorable. I paid the price for it. Hope 40’s will bring me sanity. J

I never felt I was nearing 40. I felt like I was a teenager all these years. I realized I am aging only when a young medical student called me ‘Thaththey’ (father) last week at Anuradhapura hospital. I came home and looked at myself in the mirror. I saw the graying hair and beard and wrinkles around the eyes more than I saw earlier. I have to accept the fact that I am aging now. Still I will be young at heart. I wish if there was someone to take a good photograph of me today. But no one is here to do a decent job.

When looking back, I don’t regret. I have done what I could during the hardest times and have been able to deliver. There have been unproductive years as well but it is during those years that one gets a chance to reflect and plan the rest of the life.

40th Birthday Quotations.

Life begins at 40 – but so do fallen arches, rheumatism, faulty eyesight, and the tendency to tell a story to the same person, three or four times.

~ Anonymous

At twenty years of age, the will reigns; at thirty, the wit; and at forty, the judgment.
~ Benjamin Franklin

Forty is the old age of youth; fifty is the youth of old age.
~ Victor Hugo

And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.
~ Abraham Lincoln

If life really begins on your 40th birthday, it’s because that’s when women finally get it.
The guts to take back their lives.
~ Laura Randolph

At the age of twenty, we don’t care what the world thinks of us; at thirty, we worry about what it is thinking of us; at forty, we discover that it wasn’t thinking of us at all.
~ Anonymous

One thought on “In the 40’s Club, from Today … … …

Leave a Reply

