India Unbound – Gurucharan Das

India UnboundIndia Unbound is a 2000 non-fiction book by Gurcharan Das. It is an account of India’s economic development and policy changes between the period of 1942 to 1999.

The book tells us the period between 1942 to 1965 in its first section, ‘Spring of Hope,’ the era of Prime Minister Nehru and the backwardness of the economy that affected the development of India. It further discusses the era of post independence economic policies. Das criticizes Nehru’s economic policies as there is more state control in industry and public sector.

The second section, ‘The Lost Generation (1966–91,)’ tells us the story of Indian economy’s slow growth and Indira Gandhi’s economic policies that put the economy into more turmoil and put more Indians into abject poverty. Das broadly discusses about the end of the License Raj which was the biggest barrier to the economy of India.

‘Rebirth of Dream (1991–99)’ discusses the era of Narasimha Roa as the Prime Minster and his economic reforms. Manmohan Singh, the then Finance Minister spearheads the reforms and brings telling changes to the economy.

2 thoughts on “India Unbound – Gurucharan Das

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s